Ninth Grade Academy

2015 Ninth Grade Academies

For the ninth year, many Denver Public Schools high schools will host Ninth Grade Academies.

All parents/guardians of incoming ninth graders at the schools below will be receiving a letter and registration form from the high school where their son/daughter is projected to attend.

High school is a critical passage in a student’s life.  It shapes who he/she becomes in the future.  During these years the academic preparation gained in high school and the real-life skills acquired will lead to important career decisions and establish life long friendships, while having fun and participating in significant school events.

All incoming ninth grade students are invited to attend; the academy will jump start the transition from middle school to a successful high school experience.  Students will receive guidance and support needed to thrive in high school.  DPS has collected five years of data on the Ninth Grade Academies. Students who participated improved their academic performance, had a stronger attachment to their high schools and peer groups, and were more likely to graduate from high school!

  • Students will meet high school staff members.
  • Students who successfully complete the academy will earn high school credit.
  • Students will be involved in lessons and activities to engage them in high school.
  • Students will receive a small backpack full of school supplies for ninth grade.
  • Students will discover how being an active participant is fun and engaging!

2015 District Ninth Grade Academies                                

School Date & Time NGA Site Leader
Abraham Lincoln 8/10 – 8/14, 8am – 12noon Elvira Olivas, Elvira_Olivas@dpsk12.org
CEC Middle College 8/3 – 8/5, 7:30 – 11:30am &8/6, 7:30am – 4:30pm Marcee Medina, Marcee_Medina@dpsk12.org
Denver Center forInternational Studies 8/10 – 8/12, 8am – 12noon Theresa Harrold, Theresa_Harrold@dpsk12.org
Denver School of the Arts 8/10 – 8/14, 8am – 12noon Victoria Brown, Victoria_Brown@dpsk12.org
East 8/10 – 8/14, 8am – 12noon Rudy Villarreal, Raul_Villarreal@dpsk12.org
George Washington TBD Marjorie Lane, Marjorie_Lane@dpsk12.org
John F. Kennedy 8/10 – 8/13, 7:30am – 12:30pm Greg Chapman, Gregory_Chapman@dpsk12.org
Kunsmiller Creative Arts Academy 8/10 – 8/13, 8am – 12noon TBD
MLK Early College 8/3 – 8/7, 8am – 12noon Dr. Donna DiCianno,Donna_Barney-Dicianno@dpsk12.org
North 8/10 – 8/12, 8:30am – 2:30pm & 8/13, 8:30am – 12:30pm Kellianne Rothwell, Kellianne_Rothwell@dpsk12.org
South 8/10– 8/14, 8am – 12noon Jason Brookes, Jason_Brookes@dpsk12.org
Thomas Jefferson 8/10 – 8/14, 7:30 – 11:30am Liz Buffington, Elizabeth_Buffington@dpsk12.org

Please note the following important details:

  • RTD coupons are available for those who need transportation
  • Daily snacks and water provided

Questions

Send an email message to:  ninthgradeacademy@dpsk12.org or leave a message on the DPS Ninth Grade Academies Hotline:  720-424-8277 and someone will respond.

Registration Forms

Click here for English

Click here for Spanish

Website and App by BlueTreeApps | Login